Australian Music Prize


PPCA has been a proud principal partner of The Australian Music Prize since its inception in 2005. The Amp was established to encourage, reward and promote Australian music of excellence.


Each year an Australian artist or group is awarded The Amp, receiving a cash prize in recognition of the outstanding creativity they exhibited based on an original album released in that year. Each year PPCA donates $30,000 to the winning artists.


The Amp was founded in the spirit of the UK’s prestigious Mercury Music Prize, whose winners have included Arctic Monkeys, Franz Ferdinand, Dizzee Rascal, M People and Primal Scream. Along with a cash prize for the winning artist, both the winner and the finalists (known collectively as the Shortlist) share in widespread media and retail exposure.


The Amp is unique in Australia – a critically judged award which honours contemporary Australian artists based on their creative excellence. Any artist has the opportunity to be Shortlisted and potentially to win – regardless of record sales, genre, level of public recognition or record label affiliation.


The Amp aims to promote the health and growth of the local industry both within Australia and overseas.


The Amp's winners to date have been:
2005: The Drones for 'Wait Long By the River And the Bodies of Your Enemies Will Float By'
2006: 'Augie March for Moo, You Bloody Choir'
2007: 'The Mess Hall for Devils Elbow'
2008: Eddy Current Suppression Ring for 'Primary Colours'
2009: Lisa Mitchell for 'Wonder'
2010: Cloud Control for 'Bliss Release'
2011: The Jezabels for 'Prisoner'
2012: Hermitude for ‘Hyper Paradise’
2013: Big Scary for 'Not Art’



2014 Australian Music Prize winners Big Scary with PPCA CEO Dan Rosen.


For more information, see the Australian Music Prize website